instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads

Directors and Officers

Letty Cottin Pogrebin

President of the Authors Registry. Author of eight books, including Family Politics, Among Friends, Deborah, Golda, and Me: Being Female and Jewish in America, Getting Over Getting Older: An Intimate Journey and, most recently, Three Daughters. Ms Pogrebin is a founding editor of Ms. magazine, where she has served as editor, columnist, contributor, and editor-at-large. She also writes a column for Moment magazine, and is a contributing editor at Family Circle. She has been a columnist & editorial board member of Tikkun since 1992, and was columnist for Ladies Home Journal from 1971-81. She currently sits on the editorial advisory board of CommonQuest, a magazine of Black-Jewish relations. Ms. Pogrebin was a co-developer, with Marlo Thomas, of the Emmy award-winning children's classic "Free to Be, You and Me." She also lectures on a variety of topics and has received many awards. Her articles have been published in dozens of newspapers and magazines including The New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times, Boston Globe, Philadelphia Inquirer, The Nation, Harpers Bazaar, George and Israel Horizons.

James Gleick

Author of Isaac Newton, Faster: The Acceleration of Just About Everything, Chaos: Making a New Science (National Book Award nominee), and Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman (National Book Award nominee). After working as a reporter for The New York Times, Mr. Gleick was the McGraw Distinguished Lecturer at Princeton University. In 1993, he co-founded the Pipeline, a New York City-based Internet service that pioneered the first full-featured graphical user interface for Internet access from Windows and MacIntosh computers. He collaborated with the photographer Eliot Porter on Nature's Chaos and with developers at Autodesk on Chaos: The Software. He was the editor of Best American Science Writing 2000.

Peter Petre

Co-author, with former IBM chairman Thomas J. Watson, Jr., of Father, Son & Co.: My Life at IBM and Beyond. He is co-author, with General Norman H. Schwarzkopf, of It Doesn't Take a Hero. Also collaborated with Alan Greenspan on his memoir, The Age of Turbulence.

A senior editor at large at Fortune, Mr. Petre directs the magazine's coverage of information technology, industrial technology, biotechnology, science, and innovation.

Cathleen Schine

Cathleen Schine is a novelist. An unsuccessful student of medieval history, she left academia for the lucrative world of freelance journalism before turning to fiction. Her novels include Rameau’s Niece, The Love Letter, The Three Weissmanns of Westport, and most recently, Fin & Lady. She is a frequent contributor to The New York Review of Books.

James Shapiro

James Shapiro is the Larry Miller Professor of English at Columbia University and a Vice President of the Authors Guild. His books include Rival Playwrights (1991), Shakespeare and the Jews (1996), Oberammergau (2000), 1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare (2005), and Contested Will: Who Wrote Shakespeare (2010). His journalism has appeared in the New York Times, the Guardian, The London Review of Books, and the Financial Times. He serves on the Board of Governors of the Royal Shakespeare Company and the Folger Shakespeare Library, and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Nick Taylor

Authored or co-wrote multiple non-fiction books, most recently American-Made: The Enduring Legacy of the WPA, a popular history of the Works Progress Administration. Taylor collaborated on John Glenn: A Memoir, the late astronaut and senator’s best-selling autobiography, and with former Commerce Secretary Peter G. Peterson on his memoir, The Education of an American Dreamer. A Necessary End, Taylor's memoir of his parents' final years, is frequently used in death and grief counseling. His other books include Sins of the Father, Bass Wars, and Laser: The Inventor, the Nobel Laureate, and the Thirty-Year Patent War. He currently serves as president of the Authors Guild Foundation.

Scott Turow

Past President of the Authors Guild. Author of One L, about his experience as a first-year student at Harvard Law School, and six novels: Presumed Innocent, The Burden of Proof, Pleading Guilty, The Laws of Our Fathers, Personal Injuries, and Reversible Errors. Mr. Turow's books have been translated into more than 25 languages and, in total, have sold approximately twenty-five million copies worldwide. They have won a number of literary awards. His latest book, Limitations, was published on November 14, 2006.

Mary Rasenberger

Mary Rasenberger is the Executive Director of the Authors Guild and Managing Director of the Authors Registry. Prior to joining the Guild in November 2014, Mary practiced law for over 25 years in the areas of intellectual property, media and technology, with special expertise in copyright law. Most recently, Mary was a partner at Cowan, DeBaets, Abrahams & Sheppard where she counseled publishing, media, entertainment, internet, and other technology companies, as well as authors and artists in all areas of copyright and related rights, including licensing, litigation, infringement analysis, policy, enforcement and digital rights. From 2002 to 2008 Mary worked for the U.S. Copyright Office and Library of Congress as senior policy advisor and program director for the National Digital Preservation Program. Mary has worked at other major New York law firms and for a major record company.

Copyright ©2008 The Authors Registry.
All rights reserved.